2019 Connecting Chords Music Festival

October 18 – December 1, 2019

Presented annually by the Michigan Festival of Sacred Music, the Connecting Chords Music Festival is guided by the broad interpretation of “sacred”, which we believe includes cultural traditions and human dignity.

In addition to our fine artists presenting spiritual and thought-provoking programs, some of our events this year will be focused on music and sound therapy.

  Download Printable Schedule

2019 Connecting Chords Music Festival Events

Rahim AlHaj & Sahba Motallebi

Rahim AlHaj & Sahba Motallebi

Iraqi oud master with Iranian tar virtuosa

Friday, October 18 at 7:30 pm
St. Luke’s Episcopal Church

Taiko Drumming Master Class

Taiko Drumming Master Class

With Ken Koshio and Carolyn Koebel

October 19, 2019
Two sessions: 10:00 AM & 11:30 AM

Kalamazoo College – Light Fine Arts Building

<em>Fujin Raijin</em>: Music of Japan

Fujin Raijin: Music of Japan

Featuring organ, marimba, and Taiko drumming

Sunday, October 20 at 4:00 pm
Prince of Peace Lutheran Church

Leahaliza Lee

Leahaliza Lee

Sephardic vocalist

Wednesday, October 23 at 7:30 pm
Congregation of Moses

Ken Koshio

Ken Koshio

Taiko drummer and folk singer

Thursday, October 24 at 7:00 pm
Parchment Community Library

<em>The Passion of Joan of Arc</em>

The Passion of Joan of Arc

Classic silent film with live soundtrack performance

Saturday, October 26 at 2:00 pm
Kalamazoo College – Dalton Theater, Light Fine Arts Building

<em>Pas De Deux: Keys & Chords</em>

Pas De Deux: Keys & Chords

Organist David Lauer with soprano Susan B. Anthony

Sunday, October 27 at 4:00 pm
First Baptist Church

Community Zikr

Community Zikr

Ceremonial chant led by Murshid Muhammad Ichlas

Tuesday, October 29 at 7:00 pm
Unity of Kalamazoo

Family Drumming Circle

Family Drumming Circle

Energetic, family-friendly community drumming event

Saturday, November 2 at 2:00 pm
St. Luke’s Episcopal Church

Rohan Krishnamurthy & Raaginder

Rohan Krishnamurthy & Raaginder

Classic Indian percussion and violin with divine chant

Sunday, November 3 at 4:00 pm
Kalamazoo College – Dalton Theater, Light Fine Arts Building

Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery

Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery

Mandala Sand Painting

Wednesday, November 6 – Sunday, November 10
Kalamazoo Valley Museum

Free Event

Learn More

Family Drum & Dance Night

Family Drum & Dance Night

An evening of high-energy drum and dance

Thursday, November 7 at 7:00 pm
Parchment Community Library

Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery

Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery

Concert of Song & Dance

Friday, November 8 at 7:30 pm
Comstock Auditorium

Samite

Samite

Multi-instrumentalist/music therapist

Saturday, November 9 at 2:00 pm
Kalamazoo Public Library (Downtown)

Sound Immersion Meditation

Sound Immersion Meditation

Led by sound therapist Judy Huxmann

Saturday, November 16 at 2:00 pm
Kalamazoo Nature Center

Schola Antiqua

Schola Antiqua

Early music vocal ensemble

Sunday, November 17 at 4:00 pm
First Congregational United Church of Christ

Messiah Sing

Messiah Sing

Sing-along of Handel’s Messiah with professional musicians

Sunday, December 1 at 4:00 pm
First Congregational United Church of Christ

Free Event

Learn More